Easy. Clean. Breakfast.

EASY. CLEAN. BREAKFAST BAKE.

Okay yall. So I LOVE breakfast food. Love it. It’s my favorite meal. I could it for every meal probably. My favorite breakfast would probably be scrambled eggs (with cheese DUH), bacon, cheese grits, and some type of bread. Sounds delicious, right? But here’s the thing. That’s not necessarily the most time efficient or healthy option. Who really has time in the busy hectic mornings to make that every day? Not me. Especially not on the days I work and leave the house by 6am. So I racked my brain to come up with a nutritious dish that has elements of my favorite breakfast. And it led me to creating the “frittata-like” dish. I made it once early in the week and it wasn’t quite perfect, so I perfected it and tried again yesterday. I ate it this morning and let me just tell ya, it was SO good. I hope you guys enjoy this EASY, HEALTHY, CLEAN, breakfast dish. This is my first time actually WRITING a recipe, so bear with me. I you have questions, feel free to ask. Let me know if you make it!!!

breakfast.JPG

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups diced sweet potatoes or white potatoes. (I used one bag of the pre-cut sweet potatoes from HEB)

Olive oil

4 cups of veggies of your choice. (I used spinach and mushrooms)

8 eggs

1 1/3 cup of cheese of your choice (I used half mozzarella, half cheddar)

Salt and Pepper

Seasoning of choice (I used Trader Joe’s Everything but the Bagel)

 

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350.

Place diced potatoes in small bowl. Drizzle with olive oil (just a tsp or so) and season with seasoning of choice or just S&P. Give it a good stir to make sure all of the potatoes are covered with seasoning and oil.

Place potatoes in a single layer on bottom of greased pan. Bake for 10 min. They will continue baking once we add the other ingredients but they need to bake by themselves for a few minutes so they get cooked all the way through.

While potatoes are baking, scramble 8 eggs in a medium sized bowl with salt and pepper and half the cheese.

After 10 minutes, pull potatoes out and flip. Place back in bottom of pan in a single layer.

Add 4 cups of mixed veggies on top of potatoes.

Pour scrambled eggs on top of the veggies.

Sprinkle the top with the remaining cheese and top with more of the seasoning you used on the potatoes.

Bake for 30 minutes or until the eggs don’t jiggle when you shake the pan. Voila! That’s it!

 

This makes four servings. If you do Beachbody (like I do), it’s one yellow, one red, one blue, one green, and one tsp. If you don’t do Beachbody, this is just a carb, protein, veggie, and healthy fat! What I love about this recipe is that it is totally customizable. You can use white or sweet potato based on your preference. You can choose your favorite seasoning. You can choose your favorite veggies. A good remix of this would be using bell peppers and spinach, jack cheese, and a taco seasoning blend to make a southwest/Mexican version. It’s very customizable to what YOU like, while also giving you a little bit of each food group!! And you can totally double it if you want or need to! Once its cooled in the pan, cut into individual servings, wrap in aluminum foil, and store in ziplock bag in fridge. You can also make this ahead of time and freeze if desired! To reheat, just place on microwave safe plate and reheat for about 3 minutes on 50% power or until heated through.

Leave a comment